Hunter X Hunter (2011): “Ansatsu Ikka no Yakata” (Zoldyck Family Theme)

by Rouraflute3

Since I’ve started watching Hunter X Hunter (2011) I love the Zoldyck family theme so much I think about it every day, so I have decided to blog about it. The Zoldyck family are naturally born assassins trained in underground techniques. A family that is like no other, and just a fair warning, do not try to trespass through their property.

543131-killua_after_killed_bodoro

Killua Zoldyck

 

As the piece plays in my head over and over and over again, I get closer and closer to finding a familiar aura from the piece. Sergei Prokofiev’s Romeo and Juliet, Op. 64 was a ballet of which I watched on film. We all know about Romeo and Juliet as being William Shakespeare’s play, but this version does not involve words. With Juliet being a Capulet and Romeo a Montague, their relationship is forbidden for the families of the two are enemies.

Going on, in Prokofiev’s Romeo and Juliet. Op. 64 Act 1 Scene 2 #13 “Dance of the Knights” repeatedly kept playing in my head; forcing me to find the similarities in both “Ansatsu Ikka no Yakata” and “Dance of the Knights.”

114

Montagues (Left) and Capulets (Right)

What really sold me on the similarities comes from the very beginning of each piece presenting a dreadful bass line. Both pieces depict what is happening in their surroundings producing the sense of tension. The Zoldyck family may be a family, but that doesn’t mean they like each other. If you know the ballet, the Capulets and the Montagues are at a ball under the same roof, yet the two families do not like each other.

PVyJ9xz

The Zoldyck Family

 

I am not saying that the two pieces are exactly the same (they are totally not), but it makes me wonder if Yoshihisa Hirano, the composer of the original soundtrack, was influenced by Prokofiev’s piece. Check out these pieces below and tell me what you think here, Twitter, Instagram or Facebook.

Music Pieces

Prokofiev’s Romeo and Juliet Op. 64 Act 1 Scene 2 #13 “Dance of the Knights”

Yoshihisa Hirano’s  “Ansatsu Ikka no Yakata” Hunter X Hunter (2011) (Zoldyck Family Theme)

Leave a Reply

